Ghosts I’ve Met

Through the years, I’ve had the pleasure to meet many ghosts. Here are a few:

  • Ovid introduced me to the shades in the underworld, or Hades, in The Odyssey.
  • William Shakespeare furthered my acquaintance with ghosts by introducing me to Hamlet’s father in Hamlet.
  • Emily Bronte shared Catherine Earnshaw with me in Wuthering Heights.
  • Charles Dickens led me to Marley, the Ghost of the Past, the Ghost of the Present, and the Ghost of the future in A Christmas Carol.
  • Oscar Wilde widened my circle of friends with The Canterville Ghost.
  • Henry James tried to introduce me to somebody in The Turn of the Screw, but I didn’t quite meet that person. Shame on you James.
  • I’ve met the hitchhikers in The Haunted Mansion.
  • I’ve had the good fortune to meet many departed souls through popular mystery fiction.
  • I’ve seen many orbs, but they’re just passing strangers (maybe).

I’m eager to meet many more–in literature (I really want to meet the ghosts that Violet Hunt knows) and in person. 🙂

One thought on “Ghosts I’ve Met

Leave a Reply

